Digital Border Directory

Travel authorisations

US Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA)

Last checked 24 October 2026 · 6 sources

Short answer

ESTA is the online system that Visa Waiver Program travellers use to get an electronic travel authorisation before travelling to the United States 2. The Visa Waiver Program allows stays of 90 days or less without a visa for nationals of 42 countries and territories 5. The fee is US$40.62 from 16 October 2026, or US$10.62 if the application is denied 3. CBP proposed in December 2025 to make the ESTA Mobile app the only way to apply and to require five years of social media 4.
Status
Live. Changes proposed 10 December 2025 4
Run by
U.S. Customs and Border Protection 1,6
Fee from 16 October 2026
US$40.62, or US$10.62 if denied 3
Stay allowed under the Visa Waiver Program
90 days or less 5
Participating countries
42 countries and territories 5
Passport
An e-passport with an electronic chip is required 5
Fee law
Section 100014 of Public Law 119-21 (HR-1), 8 U.S.C. 1187(h)(3)(B) 1,3
Official site
esta.cbp.dhs.gov 6

What ESTA is

CBP describes ESTA as the online system Visa Waiver Program travellers use to obtain an electronic travel authorisation before travel to the United States by air, sea or land 2. The State Department says travellers need ESTA approval before boarding a US-bound air or sea carrier 5.

The Visa Waiver Program lets nationals of participating countries visit for 90 days or less without a visa. The State Department lists 42 countries and territories 5. For the United Kingdom, eligibility is limited to British citizens with the unrestricted right of permanent abode 5.

Who cannot use ESTA

The State Department lists groups who cannot travel under the Visa Waiver Program and must apply for a visa instead 5.

  • Nationals of participating countries who have been in Cuba on or after 12 January 2021, with limited exceptions for diplomatic or military travel 5.
  • Nationals who have been in North Korea, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria or Yemen on or after 1 March 2011 5.
  • Dual nationals of Cuba, North Korea, Iran, Iraq, Sudan or Syria 5.
  • Travellers without an e-passport 5.

Fee history

Federal Register notices set out the fee changes made under HR-1, the law known as the One Big Beautiful Bill Act 3.

PeriodApproved applicationDenied application
Before 30 September 2025 1US$21 1Not stated in the notice 1
From 30 September 2025 1US$40 (US$17 plus at least US$10 plus US$13) 1Not stated in the notice 1
From 1 January 2026 2US$40.27 2US$10.27 2
From 16 October 2026 3US$40.62 3US$10.62 3

How the fee is built

The October 2026 notice splits the fee into three parts. It lists US$17 and US$13 amounts that it does not change and a cost recovery amount of US$10.62 charged on every application, including denied ones 3. The cost recovery part rose by US$0.35 for the 2027 fiscal year under an inflation adjustment rule in 8 U.S.C. 1187(h)(3)(B)(iv) 3.

Proposed changes

On 10 December 2025 CBP published a 60-day request for public comment on ESTA and Form I-94 4. It proposed adding social media from the last five years as a mandatory data element 4. It listed further data fields to add when feasible, including telephone numbers used in the last five years, email addresses used in the last ten years and names of parents, spouse, siblings and children 4.

The notice said CBP will decommission the ESTA website application process and make the ESTA Mobile app the sole platform 4. It said a selfie requirement had already been approved through an emergency clearance 4. It cited Executive Order 14161 of January 2025 4.

Comments were due by 9 February 2026 4. The notice estimated 14,484,073 ESTA Mobile respondents a year and 22 minutes per application 4. A final decision on the proposals was not found in the records opened for this entry.

Common questions

How much does ESTA cost?

US$40.62 from 16 October 2026. A denied application costs US$10.62 3.

How long can I stay in the US on ESTA?

The Visa Waiver Program allows stays of 90 days or less 5.

Do I need an e-passport for ESTA?

Yes. The State Department says an e-passport is required for the Visa Waiver Program 5.

Will ESTA require social media?

CBP proposed it on 10 December 2025, with five years of social media as a mandatory field 4.

Rules and charges change. Check the official source linked on this page before you pay or travel. Spotted an error? Email hello@digitalborderdirectory.com.

Sources

  1. Federal Register, U.S. Customs and Border Protection: CBP Immigration Fees Required by HR-1 for Fiscal Year 2025 (28 August 2025)
  2. Federal Register, U.S. Customs and Border Protection: Certain DHS Immigration Fees Required by HR-1, Fiscal Year 2026 Adjustments for Inflation (19 November 2025)
  3. Federal Register, U.S. Customs and Border Protection: Certain DHS Immigration-Related Fees Required by HR-1, Fiscal Year 2027 Adjustments for Inflation (1 October 2026)
  4. Federal Register, U.S. Customs and Border Protection: Agency Information Collection Activities, Revision, Arrival and Departure Record (Form I-94) and Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) (10 December 2025)
  5. U.S. Department of State: Visa Waiver Program (undated)
  6. U.S. Customs and Border Protection: Official ESTA Application Website (undated)

Related